情绪障碍:紧张、抑郁和焦虑

针灸是天然而且安全的缓解压力,治疗紧张、抑郁和焦虑的方法。中医认为精神心理情绪障碍是体内阴阳气血失衡的结果。通过针灸可以调整这种不平衡,从而恢复身体和心理健康。针灸也可以和常规西医药有效地结合使用。

中医针灸缓解紧张/压力、中医针灸治疗抑郁和焦虑

什么是紧张/压力(Stress)?

紧张/压力

压力是心理压力源(stressor)和心理压力反应共同构成的一种认知和行为体验过程。少量的压力可能是需要的、有益的,甚至是健康的。正面的压力有助于提高运动员成绩,它也对环境适应和反应及动力起作用的因素。然而,过量的压力可能导致人身伤害。压力可增加中风、心脏病发作、溃疡和精神心理疾病如抑郁症的风险。

压力源是指引起压力反应的因素,包括生物性压力源、精神性压力源、社会环境性压力源。生物性压力源直接阻碍和破坏个体生存与种族延续的事件,包括躯体创伤和疾病,饥饿、性剥夺、睡眠剥夺、感染、噪声、气温变化等。精神性压力源直接阻碍和破坏个体正常精神需求的内在和外在事件,包括错误的认知结构,个体不良经验,道德冲突以及长期生活经历造成的不良个性心理特点(易受暗示、多疑、嫉妒、处责、悔恨、怨恨等)。社会性压力源直接阻碍和破坏个体社会需求的事件,包括纯社会性的(重大社会变革、重要人际关系破裂等)和由自身状况造成的人际适应问题(如社会交往不良)。造成心理问题的压力源绝大多数是综合性,往往在生物性或社会性压力源的背后,还隐藏着深层的精神性压力源。人体通过激活神经系统和分泌特定的激素来回应压力。下丘脑发出信号使肾上腺产生更多像肾上腺素和皮质醇的激素,并把它们释放到血液中。

什么是抑郁症?

抑郁症抑郁症又称抑郁障碍,以显著而持久的心境低落为主要临床特征,是心境障碍的主要类型。抑郁症可以影响一个人的思想、行为、情感和幸福感。心情郁闷的人可能感到悲伤、焦虑、空虚、无望、无助、无用、内疚、烦躁、自卑羞愧或烦躁不安等。他们可能会对那些曾经愉悦的活动失去兴趣,出现暴饮暴食或厌食,注意力不集中,健忘,或优柔寡断,并有自杀企图或行为。也可能出现失眠、嗜睡、疲劳、身体疼痛,或者消化问题等。

抑郁症是最常见的精神健康问题之一。在澳洲,大约五分之一的人会在其生命的某个阶段出现抑郁症。

什么是焦虑症?

焦虑是一种恐惧、担心、不安的感觉。焦虑症通常表现为无明确客观对象的紧张担心,坐立不安。它常常伴有肌紧张、烦躁、疲劳和注意力不集中,还有植物神经症状(心悸、手抖、出汗、尿频等)。

焦虑症也是一种常见的精神健康障碍,是神经症这一大类疾病中最常见的一种,大约有15%的成年人受此影响。

紧张/压力、抑郁和焦虑的症状表现

焦虑症随着人们生活节奏的加快和压力不断增加的生活方式,抑郁症和焦虑症越来越普遍。如果您有任何这些心理状态,请及时诊治处理,否则你的健康将会受到影响,并可能出现其他问题。紧张、焦虑和抑郁的症状可能因人而异,常见的症状包括:

  • 持续、过度而不切实际的担忧
  • 消极的想法
  • 对日常物品和社交场合恐惧
  • 惊恐发作
  • 烦躁易怒
  • 食欲或体重改变
  • 疲劳乏力
  • 注意力不集中
  • 身体疼痛
  • 腹泻或便秘
  • 伴随着其他紧张/压力相关的病症,如头痛/偏头痛、失眠、高血压和心脏病

中医针灸治疗紧张、抑郁和焦虑

中医理论认为,心境障碍是身体阴阳气血不协调/不平衡的结果。因此,对于精神心理疾病中医需要辨证治疗,以恢复身体的阴阳气血平衡。从西医的角度看,针灸可增加羟色胺和内啡肽的合成,并通过神经系统的刺激缓解压力和减轻疼痛。

抑郁症和焦虑症这两种最常见的心理健康问题都可以用针灸来治疗。中医认为,肝主疏泄,抑郁症是身体气机运转出了问题,肝气郁滞或气血不和可以通过刺激肝经(有时也会涉及心脾两经)特定穴位来进行调整。而焦虑症则是由于心肾不交,肾水不足,心火过亢,导致出现焦虑及其相关症状,因此,治疗上就着重于恢复心肾两脏之间的平衡。

针灸和中医,作为一个整体疗法,集身心灵于一体,更天然、安全而有效地治疗情绪困扰/心境障碍,因为她:

  • 促进身体的自愈能力
  • 是一个整体医学,从来没有孤立肉体和精神,而是对身心疾病作全面的治疗
  • 改善因西药毒副作用、癌症、内分泌异常等引起的精神心理疾病
  • 通过减少或免除西药使用,降低或消除西药固有的副作用,从而降低了治疗费用,帮助了患者
  • 强调预防和保健:健康的饮食,适当的锻炼和减压对保持身心健康是非常有帮助的

墨尔本中医倍思堂吴医生是澳洲注册中医师、针灸师、中药师,他对多种精神心理疾病/心境障碍的治疗,都很有心得,疗效显著,包括精神紧张/压力、焦虑症、抑郁症等。如果您或您的家人有任何情绪上的疾病,如情绪波动、压力、抑郁、和/或焦虑,请随时通过电话 03 8839  0748 联系墨尔本中医针灸诊所倍思堂 或者 在线预约 咨询诊治。

Mood Disorders – Stress, depression and anxiety

Acupuncture is a natural & safe method of treatment for stress, depression and anxiety. Mood disorders in Chinese medicine are the result of imbalances in the body. By rectifying these imbalances through acupuncture, the body and mind are brought back into sync, restoring mental health and wellbeing. Acupuncture can also be used effectively in combination with a number of conventional western treatments of mental health including medication and therapy.

acupuncture for stress, depression and anxiety

What is Stress?

Stress

Stress is a feeling of strain and pressure. Small amounts of stress may be desired, beneficial, and even healthy. Positive stress helps improve athletic performance and it also plays a factor in motivation, adaptation, and reaction to the environment. However, excessive amounts of stress may lead to bodily harm. Stress can increase the risk of strokes, heart attacks, ulcers, and mental illnesses such as depression.

The events that provoke stress are called stressors. The human body responds to stressors by activating the nervous system and specific hormones. The hypothalamus signals the adrenal glands to produce more of the hormones like adrenaline and cortisol, and release them into the bloodstream.

What is Depression?

depressionDepression is a state of low mood and aversion to activity that can affect a person’s thoughts, behavior, feelings and sense of well-being. People with depressed mood can feel sad, anxious, empty, hopeless, helpless, worthless, guilty, irritable, ashamed or restless. They may lose interest in activities that were once pleasurable, experience overeating or loss of appetite, poor concentration, hard to remember details or make decisions, and may contemplate, attempt or commit suicide. Insomnia, excessive sleeping, fatigue, aches, pains, digestive problems or reduced energy may also be present.

Depression is one of the most common mental health problems. In Australia, about one in five people will experience depression at some stage of their lives.

What is Anxiety?

Anxiety is a feeling of fear, worry, and uneasiness, usually generalized and unfocused as an overreaction to a situation that is only subjectively seen as menacing. It is often accompanied by muscular tension, restlessness, fatigue and poor concentration.

Anxiety is also a common mental health disorder and is believed to affect about 15% of adults.

Symptoms related to Stress, Depression and Anxiety

Anxiety mental health, mood disorderThe current lifestyle of ever increasing pressure and a quicker pace of life are making stress, depression and anxiety more and more common. If you have any of these conditions and do not manage them properly, your health will be affected and other problems may arise. Symptoms related to stress, anxiety and depression can vary from person to person. The common symptoms include:

  • Persistent, excessive or unrealistic worries
  • Negative thoughts
  • A phobia about everyday objects and social situations
  • Panic attacks
  • Irritability
  • Appetite or weight changes
  • Low energy
  • Poor concentration
  • Body aches and pains
  • Diarrhoea or constipation
  • Accompanied with other stress related conditions such as headaches/migraines, insomnia, high blood pressure and heart diseases

Treat Stress, Depression and Anxiety with Acupuncture and Chinese Herbal Medicine

In Chinese medicine theory, mood disorders are the result of disharmony or imbalance in the body. And treating mental illness is a matter of recognising the patterns of disharmony and restoring balance of the body. In western medical terms acupuncture increases the production of serotonin and endorphins, and also reduces stress and pain through neurological stimulation.

Two of the most common mental health conditions that acupuncture is used to treat are depression and anxiety. In Chinese medicine, depression  is understood as a problem with the circulation of qi (life energy) around the body. A stagnation or imbalance of qi can be corrected through stimulating the source points connected to the liver (and to a lesser extend the heart and spleen), which is the main organ responsible for the free flow of qi. While anxiety is thought to stem from and disharmony between the heart and kidney. The heart (fire) overpowers the kidney (water) and rises to the mind, leading to anxiety and its associated symptoms. Therefore, treatment involves a focus on restoring balance between these two organs.

Acupuncture and Chinese medicine, a holistic method, integrates the body and mind and balances emotional distress naturally, safely and more successfully because it:

  • Promotes the body’s natural healing abilities
  • Is a holistic medicine, has never separated the mind and body and comprehensively treats both the physical and mental symptoms of conditions
  • Enhances the health of patient with conditions caused by drug side effects, cancer, endocrine abnormalities, etc.
  • Helps patients by reducing or eliminating the need for medication and its inherent side effects and thereby lowering the cost of treatment
  • Emphasises prevention and health maintenance. A healthy diet, exercise and stress reduction techniques can be very helpful in maintaining mental and physical health

Melbourne acupuncturist & Chinese herbalist Dr. Rayman Wu is a fully qualified acupuncturist and Chinese herbal medicine practitioner. He has special interest and substantial experience in treating mental health conditions including stress, anxiety, and depression. If you or your family members suffer from any emotional disorders like mood swings, stress, depression and/or anxiety, please feel free to contact BEST Acupuncture & Chinese Medicine Melbourne Clinic by phone 03 8839  0748 or book online appointment now to see how acupuncture and Chinese medicine can help.