常见问答

常见问答

以下是常见问题及解答(FAQ)。如果你在这里不能找到答案,请随时与我们联系

BEST代表什么?
BEST是四个英文单词Balanced(平衡之道)、Empathic(同理心)、Skillful(医术高超)和Terrific(一级棒)的首字母缩写。我们运用中医的阴阳平衡之道使你去病延年;我们“医者父母心”,对你的疾患感同身受;我们拥有“千方百计”使你的诊疗体验一级棒!

在一个中医/针灸预约中会做些什么?
一个典型的诊疗预约中首先进行的是包含“望、闻、问、切”的诊断过程,其中问诊将详细询问你的病情、病史、家族史等以了解你的健康全貌,之后我们还要望舌、把脉。然后我们根据对你的疾病的诊断结果和你进行沟通,确定治疗计划,使用的疗法可能是针灸、中药、拔罐、刮痧,或者是它们的组合等等。整个诊疗过程所花的时间,首次初诊可能需要60~90分钟,这取决于病情的复杂程度,复诊一般是40~60分钟。

你所要做的就是带上你的所有相关报告(X光片和影像报告,医院或其他医生的检查结果等)。来诊所的时候请穿宽松舒适的衣服(因为针灸可能需要用到胳膊和腿上的穴位,所以如果衣袖和裤腿可以卷起来的话就很方便了)。

针灸和中医可以在私人医疗保险里报销吗?
是的,如果你有私人医疗保险的额外险(Extra/ancillary Cover),针灸和中医的诊费可以报销。报销的额度取决于你的私保计划。如果你有私保卡,我们提供电子化的现场报销,不然的话我们会提供发票给你自行报销。

我需要什么样的治疗?
这取决于你的病情需要,你来我们诊所我们会先诊断,然后根据诊断结果确定治疗计划。同时我们尊重你的选择,所以你总会得到让你舒心的治疗。

一次治疗需要多长时间?
对于首次的初诊和治疗,可能需要1小时。后续的复诊治疗约需30~45分钟。如果你来只为捡药,大约需要10~20分钟。

请问针灸很痛吗?
不痛,真的不痛。至少不会有锐痛或刺痛。你可能会有酸、麻、胀、重和温热的感觉,但这些感觉都不同于疼痛。大多数人都说是不同寻常的,但是舒服和使人放松的感觉。

如果我还是不喜欢针,怎么办?
我们还是建议先尝试针一下,真的没什么好担心的,这实际上是非常轻松的。当然,如果你真的无法接受针刺,吴医生也可以使用其他疗法,如中药、拔罐、艾灸、指压、刮痧、按摩推拿等。大多数病症都可以中药和食疗进行治疗,所以这是一个可选项。

需要治疗多少次?多长时间来一次?
每个人对治疗的反应都不尽相同,取决于病情的严重程度和病程长短,还与年龄、基本健康状况等因素有关。第一次治疗后就好转的并不少见,通常治疗3~4次后会有明显改善。当然,迁延日久的慢性病通常需要较长的疗程。我们会在你首次来初诊时就和你沟通,确定治疗计划,让你充分了解每一步。

至于治疗频率,对急性疾病,你可能需要每周两次;对多数病症,我们建议开始先每周一次或两次,以较快达到治疗效果。当你的病情好转,治疗可以减少到每周一次或两周一次。治疗的间隔慢慢变长,直到你的病情得到解决,不再需要治疗。某些病症的治疗需要在特定生理阶段进行(如调经、不孕不育、试管婴儿支持)。

难道中医适用于所有人不管年龄?
是的。中医可以有效地治疗所有年龄段的人,甚至包括孕妇和残疾人。我们有不同的疗法可供选择,以确保你得到最适合的治疗。

如果得了感冒或流感身体不适,我可以/应该来你诊所吗?
当然可以,应该来。很多人错误地认为他们感冒了或得了流感后不应该到中医诊所就诊,其实这种时候更应该来,因为针灸和中药,以及拔罐/刮痧等可以帮助身体加速恢复,以治疗感冒/流感。

如果我在服用药物怎么办?
在大多数情况下,在服用处方药期间同时用中医治疗没有任何问题。你最好把服用的药物清单(包括其他中药处方和保健品)列出来给我们,这样我们可以更好地安排你的治疗。

就诊时有什么我要做或者不要做的?
就诊时和针灸治疗前应遵循以下几个“要”和“不要”:

  • 就诊针灸治疗时不要吃得太饱,也不要空腹。
  • 不要在就诊前弄得精疲力尽。
  • 就诊当天不要刮舌苔,因为吴医生可能要看你的舌头。
  • 就诊前不要喝任何可能使你的舌苔染色的东西,比如咖啡、汽水或者果汁等。但是,喝水或茶以保持身体水分,它们都不影响舌苔的颜色。
  • 以身心放松的状态就诊,这样来接受治疗以达到最佳效果。穿宽松、舒适的衣服,能方便地在躯干、手臂和腿上扎针的最为理想。
针灸可作为预防治疗吗?
当然可以。众所周知,中医治病重在预防。现代研究已证实,针灸能刺激免疫系统,增强对细菌和病毒感染的抵抗力。针灸提高整体的机能和活力,有利于身体应对受伤和压力。因此,定期、每月的治疗可以帮助你保持良好的身心健康。

FAQ

FAQ

Here are the frequently asked questions and the answers (FAQ). If you can’t find your answers, please feel free to contact us.

What does BEST stand for?
BEST is the acronym of four words – Balanced, Empathic, Skillful and Terrific. We use a balanced way of yin and yang to restore your health, and we are empathic and skillful to ensure that you have a terrific experience in our clinic.

What does a Chinese Medicine and Acupuncture appointment involve?
A typical appointment involves an extended consultation where questions will be asked and your tongue and pulse will be assessed. Questions will detail your health, family histories and other things we may need to get a full picture of your health. Treatment is then administered according to what we think you may need – Acupuncture, Cupping, Chinese Medicine, etc, or a combination of them. Please allow 60-90 minutes for the first visit depending on complexity, and 40-60 minutes for return visits.

All you need to bring is yourself and any relevant reports (X-ray and imagine reports, tests done from your doctor etc). Please try to come in something comfortable and loose (we may need access to your arms and legs, so something you can fold up would be perfect).

Is Acupuncture and Chinese Medicine covered by Private Health Insurance?
Yes, if you have extras/ancillary cover on your private health insurance, acupuncture and Chinese Medicine consults are covered. How much you get back will depend on your level of cover with your health insurance provider. Electronic claiming facility is available so you can claim on the spot if you have insurance card, or an invoice will be provided for you to send in.

What kind of treatment do I need ?
This will be determined when you come to the clinic and will be based on the diagnosis you will be given. Your opinion will at all times be respected, and you will only receive a treatment you feel comfortable with.

How long does treatment take?
For the initial consultation and treatment, it may take 1 hour. Subsequent visits about 30~45 min for treatments. If you come only for herbs, it takes about 10 to 20 minutes.

Does acupuncture hurt?
No. Really, it doesn’t. There should be no sharp or stinging pain you normally associate with needles. Different sensations such as soreness, numbness, distending, heaviness and warmth may be felt, but the energetic sensation differs from pain. People often comment that the feeling is unfamiliar but pleasant and relaxing.

What if I don’t like needles?
We do suggest to try it to see first, it’s really nothing to worry about and it’s actually very relaxing. There are other therapies used by Dr. Wu that do not involve needles, such as Cupping, Moxibusion, Acupressure, Gua-sha (spooning). And many conditions can be treated with herbal medicine and dietary advice so this is an option.

How many treatments are needed? and how often?
The response to treatment will depend on the severity and duration of your condition, as well as your age, general health and other factors. It is not uncommon to feel better after your first treatment, and noticeable improvement is generally seen within three to four treatments; however long term, chronic conditions will generally require a longer treatment course. A treatment plan will be discussed with you on your first visit and you will be fully informed every step of the way.

As for the frequency, for acute conditions you may need two sessions a week, and for general conditions we suggest once or twice a week at early beginning in order to achieve the quickest response from your body. As your condition improves, treatment is reduced to once a week or per fortnight. The duration between treatments becomes longer until your condition is resolved and you no longer require treatment. Certain conditions may require treatment to be arranged around the stages and phases of the body (eg. fertility & IVF).

Does Chinese Medicine suit all ages and people?
Yes. Chinese medicine effectively treats people from all ages, pregnant women and people with disabilities. There are different therapies we used, and you will receive those suit you best.

Can/should I come to your clinic if unwell with a cold or flu?
Yes. Many people think that they should not schedule an acupuncture treatment when they are sick with a cold or flu, but this is actually a good time to come, since acupuncture and herbal medicine as well as cupping/spooning can help speed recovery.

How about my medications?
In most cases, there is no problems in having Chinese Medicine along with your prescription medication. It is a good idea to give a list of your medication to us so that we will arrange your treatment to suit.

Is there anything I should or should not do before my appointment?
There are a few Dos and Don’ts to follow before your acupuncture treatment:

  • Don’t eat a heavy meal right before your appointment. However, Do make sure you have eaten a meal earlier in the day. It is best neither hungry nor too full before having an acupuncture treatment.
  • Don’t exhaust yourself immediately before your appointment.
  • Don’t brush or scrape your tongue coating when you brush your teeth before your appointment, as Dr. Wu may want to examine your tongue.
  • Don’t drink anything that may color your tongue coating before your appointment, such as coffee, soda, or juice. However, Do stay hydrated by drinking water or tea, as neither of these affect the color of the tongue.
  • Do try to come to the appointment in a relaxed state of mind so as to help your body accept the treatment to the best. Loose, comfortable clothing that provides easy access to torso, arms and legs is most desirable.
Can acupuncture be used as preventative medicine?
Yes. Chinese medicine has been well-known for prevention of disease. Research has now verified that acupuncture stimulates immune system, which can increase your resistance to bacterial and viral infection. Acupuncture increases overall energy and vitality, and it helps the body respond to injury and stress. Regular, monthly treatments can help you maintain good health and a sense of well-being.